6 TOWER | FALL 2020 McCloskey Receives Award for Excellence in Teaching Kevin McCloskey (pictured center), professor of communication design, was awarded the 2019 Arthur and Isabel Wiesenberger Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching. McCloskey, who taught at KU since 1989 and retired this year, earned his Master of Fine Arts degree in illustration from The School of Visual Arts, New York. An award-winning author, artist and blogger, he is also a volunteer within KU and the local community. To learn more, visit his blog at . Hovanec Recipient of Art Education Award Dr. Julia L. Hovanec, associate professor of art education, was honored as the recipient of the 2019 Outstanding Higher Education Art Educator Award from The Pennsylvania Art Education Association. Hovanec, who has taught art for more than 32 years, beginning with elementary and middle school education, earned her doctorate at Capella University with research focused on pre-service art educators, professional identity and reflective practice. She has served as department chair since 2017, and her major role at KU is working with student teachers. KU Implements Diversity Initiatives In response to the social unrest in our nation last spring, Kutztown University is enhancing and/or initiating more than 100 action items to ensure enhanced diversity, equity and inclusion on campus this academic year. Under the direction of President Hawkinson and Dr. Warren Hilton (pictured above), vice president for Enrollment Management and Student Affairs, and through the efforts of many students, faculty, staff, alumni and the broader community, progress is already underway on many of the items that span all areas and functions of the university. Details regarding the action items can be found here: . KU Receives Awards for Support of Foster Children and Youth Programs Dr. Kenneth S. Hawkinson, KU president, received the Estelle B. Richman Leadership Award on behalf of the university at the third annual ChildPromise Inc. Gala in October 2019. KU earned the award in recognition of its partnership with ChildPromise, Inc. for its one-of-a-kind PROFS (Providing Resources and Opportunities for Future Standouts) program. On Jan. 19, Dr. Warren Hilton, vice president, Enrollment Management and Student Affairs, received Wissahickon Faith Community’s Keeper of the Dream Award for his work with the PROFS program, and his community service with health care and youth initiatives. Dr. Nathaniel J. Williams, (pictured above with Dr. Hawkinson), President/CEO, ChildPromise Inc., and Pastor Charles Quann, Bethlehem Baptist Church and ChildPromise Inc. board chair, presented Hilton with the award at a Martin Luther King Jr. Service of Remembrance. Created for students who are current or former members of the foster care system, PROFS provides college access programs to high school students and connects adult KU students to the campus resources that will help them succeed. Students who complete the PROFS program receive a $500 scholarship award, free housing and weekly sessions with a personal success coach. NEWS NOTES faculty & staff recognition